L.A. Composer Salon Appearance

I was invited to make a presentation about my work at the 45th L.A. Composer Salon, held in Venice, Ca., this past Sunday, July 22. I spoke primarily about my musical journey in general, and about The Dream Gallery (playing a few recorded excerpts from it). I also took questions from the all-composer audience, a hallmark of this unique quarterly event.

The highlight of the hourlong segment was a live performance of two of my voice/piano songs – “La Sonnambula” (from the recent cycle Rainbow Songs) and “I Live My Life in Growing Orbits” (from Five Poems of Rainer Maria Rilke). The soloist was the fine young soprano Ariel Pisturino, an up-and-comer on the Los Angeles opera and art song scene, and the pianist was Jeremy Borum, the co-producer of The Dream Gallery CD. They were both superb!

Leave a Reply

